Alexander County

US States / N / North Carolina / Alexander County

Alexander County is named for William J Alexander, who was a member of the legislature and Speaker of the North Carolina House of Commons.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Wilkes County

E – Iredell County 

S – Catawba County

W – McDowell County


Created:  January 15, 1847                    Map of North Carolina highlighting Alexander County

County Seat: 

Taylorsville  1847 – present


County Courthouse – Taylorsville


Location:  29 West Main Avenue / Center Street

Built:  1968 – 1970

Style:  Modern

Architect:  James Biggs

Contractor:  Herman Sipe and Company Inc. of Conover


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Taylorsville. The east front has a central recessed entrance. The building has few windows. The roof line is flat with a raised section on the center of the roof. The courtroom is located on the second story. The east part of the courthouse square is landscaped and has a bell tower.


History:  The first courthouse was a wood structure built in 1847 to 1848. The second courthouse was designed and constructed by B F Smith Fireproof Construction Company in 1902. The courthouse burned on August 11, 1967. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1968 to 1970.




County Courthouse – Taylorsville






















Bell from 1902 County Courthouse




Photos taken 2012