Westchester County

US States / N / New York / Westchester County

Westchester County is named for the city of Chester in England.


Created:  November 1, 1683 

County Seat:

White Plains  1683 – present


County Courthouse – White Plains  


Location:  111 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard / Quarropas Street

Built:  1968 – 1974

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Welton Becket & Associates

Contractor:  J R Stevenson Corporation


Description:  The building faces north and is a nineteen story concrete and glass structure. The building is located on a wide landscaped plaza in the center of White Plains. The east front has three high openings on the first story with recessed entrance. The roof line is flat. The building is named as the Richard J Daronco Courthouse. The building houses the New York Judicial District 9. The construction manager was Captain Thomas Dumont. The building was renovated and an annex constructed on the east side of Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard in 2003 to 2005. The architect was Pei Cobb Freed & Partners / Fuller and D’Angelo and the contractor was Ysrael A. Seinuk, P.C of New York and Cosentini Associates LLP of New York.


 Note:  In 1968, the County of Westchester entered into a contract with Welton Becket F.A.I.A., to design a new courthouse. This contract was subsequently assigned to and assumed by Welton Becket Associates and Welton Becket Associates. Becket retained Cosentini Associates and Wayman C Wing as consulting engineers, and Cosentini Associates retained Eitingon Schlossberg Associates as its consulting engineer. In 1970, contracts were awarded by the county to three prime contractors. J.R. Stevenson Corporation became the general contractor, Luna Industries., Inc., became the electrical contractor and Martin Mechanical Corporation became the mechanical contractor. J.R. Stevenson Corporation retained Belt Painting Corporation., Cafasso Lathing Plastering Company., Inc., and the joint venture of Giamboi Bros., Inc., and E.M. Fitzsimons Associates, Inc., as subcontractors. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $33,000,000.


Note:  The first courthouse was designed by R G Hatfield and built by Theodore Hunt in  White Plains in1857. The second courthouse was designed by Benjamin W Morris and constructed by John T Brady & Company in 1915. The building was razed in 1977 when the present courthouse was completed.



N – Putnam County

E – Fairfield County, Connecticut

S – Fairfield County, Connecticut, Nassau County and Bronx County

W – Bergen County, New Jersey and Rockland County





County Courthouse






















Statue of Richard J Daronco




Photos taken 2014