Tioga County

US States / N / New York / Tioga County

Tioga County is named for a Native American word meaning “at the forks” which describes a meeting place.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Tompkins County and Cortland County

E – Broome County

S – Susquehanna County, Pennsylvania and Bradford County, Pennsylvania

W – Chemung County and Schuyler County


Created:  February 21, 1791                  Map of New York highlighting Tioga County

County Seat:

Chemung ( Union ) 1791 – 1794

Newtown ( Elmira ) 1794 – 1811

Spencer                  1811 – 1822

Owego                    1822 – present


County Courthouse – Owego  


Location:  21 Court Street / Main Street

Built:  1871 – 1872

Style:  Italianate

Architect:  Miles F Howe of Owego

Contractor:  A H Keeler and S Houk


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story light red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Owego. On each corner of the building are three story square brick towers which rise ninety-two feet. At the south front, there is a small portico supported by four thin columns with balcony above. On the second story, are three arched windows with arch at the roof line. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building was renovated in 1931.


See:  The 6th Judicial District located at 31 Lewis Street in Binghampton and includes Broome County, Chemung County, Chenango CountyCortland CountyDelaware CountyMadison CountyOtsego CountySchuyler County and Tompkins County.


History:  The county was created in 1791, the first court met at the home of George Hornell in Chemung ( Union ). As Tioga County was large, the first courthouse was built at Union in 1793 and a second courthouse at Chenango Point ( Binghampton ) in 1793. The third courthouse was built in Newtown ( Elmira ) in 1794. In 1811, Spencer became the county seat and a two story wood fourth courthouse was built by Andrew Purdy at a cost of $5595. The building burned in 1822 and a temporary fifth courthouse was built. The county seat was moved to Owego and the sixth courthouse was built by Ralph Manning of Berkshire and Seth Bacon of Candor. The courthouse was remodeled in 1852 by John Gorman and Chauncey Hungerford. The seventh and present courthouse was constructed in 1871 to 1872 at a cost of $69,225.


County Clerk’s Office – Owego  




Location:  20 Court Street / Main Street

Built:  1906 – 1907

Style:  Italianate

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces west and is a one story building. The building is located in the center of Owego on the east side of the courthouse. The roof line is flat.




County Courthouse – Owego

























County Clerk’s Office – Owego










Photos taken 2010 and 2017