Franklin County

US States / N / New York / Franklin County

Franklin County is named for Benjamin Franklin, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence and who lived from 1706 to 1790.


Created:  March 11, 1808

County Seat:

Malone  1808 – present


County Courthouse – Malone  


Location:  63 West Main Street / Brewster Street

Built:  1930 – 1931

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  William J Beardsley of Poughkeepsie

Contractor:  M E Ryan Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story brownish colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Malone. The south front has a projecting center section with three arched entrances on the first story. The east and west wings project from the main building. The front has vertical dividing pillars. The roof line is flat. Part of the old red colored brick courthouse is located on the west side. The modern four story addition constructed in 2010 is located on the north side and is connected to the courthouse.


See:  The architect, William J Beardsley of Poughkeepsie , designed courthouses in Chautaqua CountyDutchess County, Greene County and Sullivan County.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1811 to 1812 at a cost of $4,757.25. The second courthouse was built in 1852 and the third courthouse was designed by Marcus Cumming and was built in 1882 at a cost of $35,000. The building was remodeled for use as the Clerk’s Office when the present courthouse was constructed on the east and south sides.



N – Quebec, Canada 

E – Clinton County and Essex County

S – Essex County and Hamilton County

W – Saint Lawrence County





County Courthouse
















Remaining Section of the Old County Courthouse




County Courthouse Addition











Picture 1811 Courthouse




Picture 1852 Courthouse




Picture 1881 Courthouse

Photos taken 2010 and 2014