Allegany County

US States / N / New York / Allegany County

Allegany County is named for Allegheny River, which name comes from the Lenape word “welhik” or “oolikanna”, which means “best flowing river of the hills’ or “beautiful stream”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Wyoming County and Livingston County

E – Steuben County

S – Potter County, Pennsylvania and McKean County, Pennsylvania 

W – Cattaraugus County


Created:  April 7, 1806                            Map of New York highlighting Allegany County

County Seat:

Angelica  1806 – 1858

Belmont   1858 – present


County Courthouse – Belmont


Location:  7 Court Street / North Court Street

Built:  1937 – 1938

Style:  Georgian

Architect:  Carl C Ade

Contractor:  Langford & Whitford.


Description: The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Belmont. The central section of the south front extends from the main building and has six vertical white pillars with a wide horizontal header at the roof line. There is a wide cornice with balustrade along the flat roof line. The entrance on the first story has white trim with a small pediment at the top. The building houses the County Supreme Court, County Court, County Family Court and County Surrogate’s Court of the 8th Judicial District. During construction, the superintendent was James S Downie.


Old County Courthouse – Angelica




Location:  59 Park Circle

Built:  1819

Style:  Federalist

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description: The building  faces north and is a two story gray color ed brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds on the town circle in the center of Angelica. The building served as the first courthouse until 1858 and cintued as a courthouse until 1892. The building now serves as the Angelica Town Hall.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Old Allegany County Courthouse


See:  The 8th Judicial District is located at 92 Franklin Street in Buffalo and includes Cattaraugus County, Chautauqua CountyErie County, Genesee CountyNiagara CountyOrleans County and Wyoming County.


History:  The county was created in 1806 and Angelica was selected as the county seat.  The court met in private homes. The first courthouse was built in 1819 and is still standing. The county seat was moved to Belmont in 1858. The second courthouse was built in 1859 to 1860. The building was demolished in 1938. In 1892 Belmont became the sole county seat. The third courthouse was constructed in 1837 to 1938.




County Courthouse – Belmont

























Old County Courthouse – Angelica







Photos taken 2010 and 2011