Otero County

US States / N / New Mexico / Otero County

Otero County is named for Michael A Otero, territorial representative to Congress from 1856 to 1861.


Created:  January 30, 1899

County Seat: 

Alamogordo 1899 – present


County Courthouse – Alamogordo  


Location:  1000 New York Avenue / 10th Street

Built:  1954 – 1955

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Wolgamood and Millington

Contractor:  Frank Tatsch


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. On the west front are two square columns framing the recessed entrance. There is a one story wing on the northwest and on the southwest. The building was expanded in 1986 to 1988. The architect was Sam Pool. The building was remodeled in 2009. The architect was AA Architects and the contractor was White Sands Construction of Alamogordo


Note:  The first courthouse was designed by F H Paradice and built by S E Pelphney in 1901. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1954.



N – Lincoln County

E – Chaves County and Eddy County

S – Culberson County, Texas, Hudspeth County, Texas and El Paso County, Texas

W – Dona Ana County and Sierra County





County Courthouse










Photos taken 2007