Lea County

US States / N / New Mexico / Lea County

Lea County is named for Captain Joseph Calloway Lea.


Created:  March 17, 1917  

County Seat: 

Lovington  1917 – present


County Courthouse – Lovington  


Location:  100 North Main Street / East Washington Avenue

Built:  1936 – 1937

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  O R Walker

Contractor:  W S Moss


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story rectangular buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building features a number of bas relief designs on the exterior. The west front has stone trim at the central entrance.  A wing was added in 1848. Another wing was added in 1957. The architect was George R Graves and the contractor was Lembke, Clough & King.


Note:  The previous courthouse was built in 1917.



N – Chaves County and Roosevelt County

E – Cochran County, Texas, Yoakum County, Texas, Gaines County, Texas, Andrews County, Texas and Winkler County, Texas

S – Winkler County, Texas and Loving County, Texas

W – Eddy County and Chaves County











Photos taken 2007