Hidalgo County

US States / N / New Mexico / Hidalgo County

Hidalgo County is named for the town of Guadalupe Hidalgo, where the treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo was signed in 1848 which ended the Mexican War and ceded New Mexico to the United States.


Created:  February 25, 1919

County Seat: 

Lordsburg  1919 – present


County Courthouse – Lordsburg  


Location:  300 South Shakespeare Street / East 3rd Street

Built:  1926 – 1927

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Thorman & Fraser

Contractor:  Jack Heather


Description:  The building faces west Built in 1926, the building is a two story red colored brick Classical Revival style structure. The building faces west and was completed in 1927. Around the west front entrance is recessed with a white colored stone trim arch. The flat roof line projects and has white colored stone trim below the projection. The modern white colored stone addition on the north side was built in 1978. The architect was Burton, Leyendecker & Leyendecker, Inc. and the contractor was Thomas E Hartigan.



N – Grant County

E – Grant County, Luna County and Mexico

S – Mexico

W – Cochise County, Arizona and Greenlee County, Arizona
















Photos taken 2007