Grafton County is named for Augustus Henry Fitzroy, who was the 3rd Duke of Grafton and a Prime Minister of Great Britain.
Surrounding County Courthouses:
N – Essex County, Vermont and Coos County
E – Carroll County and Belknap County
S – Merrimack County and Sullivan County
W – Windsor County, Vermont, Orange County, Vermont and Caledonia County, Vermont
Created: March 19, 1771
Haverhill 1771 – 1889
Woodsville 1889 – 1972
North Haverhill 1972 – present
County Courthouse – North Haverhill
Location: 3855 Dartmouth College Highway
Built: 1969 – 1971
Architect: E Verner Johnson- Robert N Hotvedt and Asssociates Inc
Contractor: H N Cumming Construction Company
Description: The building faces east. and is a three story red colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious grounds. The building has a north wing with glass panels and red colored brick along the north side. The south wing has glass panels and red colored brick along the north side and solid brick along the east front. The main entrance is recessed with gold colored glass panels on the second and third stories and recessed entrance on the first story. The roof line is flat.
Old County Courthouse – Haverhill
Location: 75 Court Street / School Street
Built: 1845 – 1846
Style: Greek Revival
Description: The building faces south and is a one story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Haverhill Center. The south front has a wide portico with four white colored columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The rectangular shaped building has arched windows with green colored shutters and arched entrance on the south side. On the hipped roof is an octagonal white colored cupola with black colored dome. The building is named as “Alumni Hall”. The building served as the courthouse until 1891.
Note: The land was donated by Colonel Charles Johnson. The previous courthouse was Pearson Hall designed and built by Edmund Srevens in 1816. The building is located at School Street and Parish Lane opposite Haverhill Common in the center of the town. The court occupied the second story and Haverhill Academy occupied the first story.
Old County Courthouse – Woodsville
Location: 35 Court Street / Central Street
Built: 1889 – 1890
Architect: C Willis Damon of Haverhill, Massachusetts
Contractor: S S Ordway
Description: The building faces east. and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Woodsville. The northeast corner has a large square red colored brick tower with steep roof. The east front has a projecting center section with arch entrance on the first story and with three arched windows on the second story. The center section rises to a peak at the roof line. The roof is hipped and the foundation is course stone. The building served as the courthouse until 1972 and presently stands as a residential building.
See: The architect, C Willis Damon of Haverhill, Massachusetts, also designed the courthouse in Plymouth.
Note: The first courthouse was designed and built by Edmund Stevens in Haverhill Center in 1816. The building stands as Pearson Hall or the Old Haverhill Academy Building. In 1846, the court was moved to the Alumni Building which also remains in Haverhill Center.
Other Branch Courthouses
Lebanon / Littleton / Plymouth
County Courthouse – Haverhill
Old County Courthouse – Haverhill Center
Old County Courthouse – Woodsville
Photos taken 2014 and 2018