Nye County

US States / N / Nevada / Nye County

Nye County is named for James Warren Nye, who was a governor of the Nevada Territory and the first senator from Nevada.


Created:  February 16, 1864

County Seat: 

Ione         1864 – 1867

Belmont   1867 – 1905

Tonopah  1905 – present


County Courthouse – Tonopah


Location:  101 Radar Road / Globe Mallow Lane

Built:  1995 – 1996

Style:  Modern

Architect:  HCA Architects of Las Vegas

Contractor:  Intermountain Construction, Inc.


Description:  The building faces west and is a one story buff and red colored sandstone and concrete structure. The west front has three sections which extend from the main building with the center section extending the furthest. The main entrance is located between the center section on the south section and the entrance has a high glass panel frame. There is on entrance on the north side of the center section with similar high glass panel frame. A wing extends south and a wing extends east on the south side at the rear of the building. The roof is hipped. The building is nasmes as the William P Beko Justice Complex.


Note:  The courtroom has elk heads along the walls.


Old County Courthouse – Tonopah




Location:  Courthouse Road / McCullough Avenue

Built:  1906 – 1907

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  J C Robertson

Contractor:  Continental Construction Company.


Description:  The building faces west andBuilt in 1906, the building is a two story ashlar and concrete structure. The building faces west and was completed in 1907. The building sits on a low hill overlooking the town. The west front has a central entrance with a projecting steel and glass porch. The rear of the building has a south wing with a one story addition along the south side of the building. The north side, also has a one story addition, The windows are arched. On the center of the roof is a silver dome. The roof is hipped. The supervisor was E E Burdock. The main building has been vacated with the exception of the more modern additions.



N – Mineral CountyChurchill County, Lander County, Eureka County and White Pine County

E – White Pine County, Lincoln County and Clark County

S – Inyo County, California

W – Inyo County, California, Esmeralda County and Mineral County


















































Photos taken 2013