Lyon County

US States / N / Nevada / Lyon County

Lyon County is named for Nathaniel Lyon, who was a general killed in action at the Battle of Wilson’s Creek in 1861.


Created:  November 25, 1861

County Seat: 

Dayton      1861 – 1909

Yerington  1909 – present


County Courthouse – Yerrington


Location:  31 South Main Street / Grove Street

Built:  1911 – 1912

Style:  Neo-Classical and Beaux Arts

Architect:  Frederic J DeLongchamps of Reno

Contractor:  Ward Brothers and Calder of Reno


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick structure. The east front has a large portico with four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The recessed entrance is framed with stone. Behind the pediment is a large square section rising above the roof line. A wide cornice runs below the flat roof line. During construction, the supervisor was George W Hollsworth. Including a recent addition, two structures were added to the rear of the courthouse that match the style of the original building. Frederic J DeLongchamps designed the first addition in 1935.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in Dayton by Henry Sweetapple in 1864. The building burned in a fire in 1909 and the county seat was moved to Yerrington.


See: Frederic J DeLongchamps designed courthouses located in Carson City ( Ormsby County ), Douglas County. Humboldt CouintyLander CountyPerishing County and Washoe County. He also designed the California courthouse in Alpine County.


County Justice Complex – Yerrington




Location:  911 Harvey Way / Oregon Street

Built:  2011 – 2013

Style:  Modern

Architect:  CRA Architects

Contractor:  Sletten Construction


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story metal siding and concrete structure. The west front has a central entrance with a two story concrete porch and recessed doors on the first story. The roof is sloped.



N – Storey County, Washoe County and Churchill County

E – Churchill County and Mineral County

S – Mineral County and Mono County, California

W – Alpine County, California,  Douglas County and Carson City































Photos taken 2013