Webster County

US States / N / Nebraska / Webster County

Webster County is named for Daniel Webster, who was an American statesman.


Created:  February 16, 1867

County Seat:

Red Cloud  1867 – present


County Courthouse – Red Cloud  


Location:  621 North Cedar Street / West 6th Avenue

Built:  1914 – 1915

Style:  Late 19th and early 20th Century Revival

Architect:  William F Gernandt of Omaha

Contractor:  The Rowles Company of Onawa, Iowa


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story buff brown colored brick structure. On the south front is a one story enclosed portico with double doorways. The windows on the second story are arched with projecting vertical dividers descending to the first story.  A wide cornice runs along the top of the third story. The roof line is sloped. The basement is a rusticated brick and Bedford limestone.


Note:  The goldenrod brick used to construct the present courthouse came from Sunderland Brothers of Omaha.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed by the Burlington & Missouri River Company in 1878. The building was demolished.


See:  The architect, William F Gernandt of Omaha, designed courthouses in Clay County, Dawson County, Merrick County, Pawnee County, Phelps County, Polk County, Richardson County, Sarpy County and Valley County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Webster County Courthouse



North  – Adams County

East    – Nuckolls County

South – Jewell County, Kansas and Smith County, Kansas

West  – Franklin County




















Photos taken 2010