Thayer County

US States / N / Nebraska / Thayer County

Thayer County is named for John Milton Thayer, who was a Civil War general and a Governor of Nebraska.


Created:  March 1, 1871

County Seat:

Hebron  1871 – present


County Courthouse –  Hebron  


Location:  225 North 4th Street / Olive Avenue

Built:  1901 – 1902

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  George A Berlinghof of Beatrice

Contractor:  Robert Butke of Omaha


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story gray Indiana Bedford limestone and Vermont marble structure. The east front has a large arch with recessed entrance. The first story windows are arched and second story has castle-like turrets. A clock is located near the top on the east side. The building originally had a high clock tower which was damaged by a tornado and the clock tower was removed in 1953.


See:  The architect, George A Berlinghof of Beatrice, designed courthouses in Colfax County, Franklin County, Greeley County, Howard County, Kearney CountyLincoln CountyNemaha County and Seward Countyand in Iowa in Crawford County.



N – Fillmore County

E – Jefferson County

S – Republic County, Kansas

W – Nuckolls County























Photos taken 2009