Stanton County

US States / N / Nebraska / Stanton County

Stanton County is named for Edwin M Stanton, who was the United States Secretary of War from 1862 to 1867.


Created:  January 26, 1856

County Seat:

Stanton  1862 – present


County Courthouse – Stanton  


Location:  804 Ivy Street / 8th Street

Built:  1975 – 1976

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Everett J Simpson of Architects Inc.

Contractor:  Fauss Construction Inc.


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story white-brown colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The south front has a recessed center section with four brick vertical dividers. The west section projects slightly and the east section projects south with no windows. A wide white band runs below the flat roof line.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by T Dudley Allen and constructed by W L Alstyne of Lincoln in 1883 to 1884. The cost of construction of the courthouse was $10,624. The cupola was removed in 1930 and the building was demolished when the present courthouse was constructed.


See:  The architect, Everett J Simpson of Architects Inc., designed courthouses in Madison County and Pierce County.


See:  The contractor, Fauss Construction Inc., constructed the courthouse in Madison County.



N – Wayne County

E – Cuming County

S – Colfax County and Platte County

W – Madison County



















Photos taken 2009