Sarpy County

US States / N / Nebraska / Sarpy County

Sarpy County is named for Peter A Sarpy, who was an early fur trader located in the Bellevue area.


Created:  February 7, 1857

County Seat:

Bellevue   1857 – 1875

Papillion   1875 – present


County Hall of Justice – Papillion


Location:  1210 Golden Gate Drive / Cedardale Road

Built:  1971 – 1973  /  1973 – 1975

Style:  Modern

Architect:  McGaughy, Marshall, McMillan & Backlund

Contractor:  Lueder Construction Company of Omaha


Description:  The building faces north and is a one story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building has large arches with windows and a recessed west entrance.  The roof line is flat. The north section is the Hall of Justice and the south section is the Administration Wing. Construction of the Administrative Wing started in 1973 and was completed in 1974. The architect was McGaughy, Marshall, McMillan & Backlund and the contractor was D R Anderson Company of Omaha. In 2009, the Hall of Justice building was remodeled and renovated. The architect was Al Povondra of Carlson West Povondra and the contractor was All Purpose Construction.


Note:  The Courthouse Complex consists of the central Hall of Justice with the attached Administrative Wing on the south side, the Administrative Addition on the east side and the Law Enforcement Building on the west side. The old courthouse which is now the Papillion City Hall is located in the downtown area to the north.


Old County Courthouse – Papillion




Location:  122 East Third Street / Washington Street

Built:  1922 – 1923

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  William F Gernandt of Omaha

Contractor:  John L Soderberg & Company of Omaha


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story buff colored brick, stone  and concrete structure. On the south front is a projecting center section with four fluted columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story with wide header above at the roof line. A horizontal belt runs between the first and second stories/ and a cornice runs below the flat roof line. The building is now the Papillion City Hall.


See:  The architect, William F Gernandt of Omaha, designed courthouses in Clay County, Dawson County, Merrick County, Pawnee County, Phelps CountyPolk County, Richardson County, Valley County and Webster County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Third Sarpy County Courthouse


County Administrative Addition – Papillion




Location:  1210 Golden Gate Drive / Cedardale Road

Built:  2006 – 2008

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Al Povondra of Carlson West Povondra

Contractor:  Upland Construction


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red and buff colored brick structure. The building is located on the east side of the County Government Complex. The entrance is located at the northeast corner with a recessed entrance. The roof line is flat. The building is named as the Administration Addition.


Old County Courthouse – Bellevue




Location:  2112 Main Street / Mission Avenue

Built:  1856

Style:  Federal

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick structure. The west front has two entrances with horizontal header running across the width of the building.  The roof is hipped.The building was constructed as the Fontanelle Bank, a “wildcat” bank which failed in 1857. The building became the courthouse in 1861 and served until 1875. The building served as the Bellevue Town Hall until 1959.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Bellevue Town Hall



N – Douglas County

E – Pottawattamie County, Iowa and Mills County, Iowa 

S – Cass County

W – Saunders County



























































Photos taken 2008 and 2016