Platte County

US States / N / Nebraska / Platte County

Platte County is named for the Platte River which flows through the county and which name is the French word for “flat”.


Created:  January 26, 1856

County Seat:

Columbus  1856 – present


County Courthouse –  Columbus  


Location:  2610 14th Street / 26th Avenue

Built:  1920 – 1921

Style:  Grecian-Ionic

Architect:   Charles Wurdeman

Contractor:  H F Hoerth


Description:  The building faces south and is a four story gray Bedford and Indiana limestone and concrete  structure. The first story has horizontal stone and a colonnade rises from the second to third stories. The roof line is flat. On the west side an addition was built in 1974 and completed in 1977. The architect was Acken, Hazen Hoffman & Miller of Lincoln.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by C A Speice and built in 1867.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Platte County Courthouse



N – Madison County and Stanton County 

E – Colfax County

S – Polk County and Merrick County

W – Nance County and Boone County













Photos taken 2009