Nance County

US States / N / Nebraska / Nance County

Nance County is named for Albinus Nance, who was a Governor of Nebraska from 1879 to 1882.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Boone County and Platte County

E – Platte County and Merrick County

S – Merrick County

W – Howard County and Greeley County


Created:  February 4, 1879                    Map of Nebraska highlighting Nance County

County Seat:

Fullerton  1879 – present


County Courthouse – Fullerton  


Location:  209 Esther Street / 3rd Street

Built:  1973 – 1974

Style:  Modern

Architect:  George E Clayton and Associates Inc.

Contractor:  Lacy Building & Supply


Description:  The building faces west and is a one story red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Fullerton. The central west entrance rises higher above the roof line and is recessed with white colored stone walls. There are long vertical windows. The roof is slightly pitched. In the interior, the courtroom is located in the center. The building houses the District Court and County Court of the 5th Judicial District. 


See:  The contractor, Lacy Building & Supply, also constructed the courthouse in Garfield County.


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Boone County, Butler CountyColfax CountyHamilton County, Merrick CountyPlatte CountyPolk CountySaunders CountySeward County and York County


History:  The county was created in 1879 and Fullerton was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story red colored brick structure designed by W C Philips and built by W W Atkinson in 1894 to 1895 at a cost of $17,000. The courthouse was demolished when the second and present courthouse was constructed in 1973 to 1974 at a cost of $440,000.




County Courthouse - Fullerton  






















Photos taken 2010