Lancaster County

US States / N / Nebraska / Lancaster County

Lancaster County is named for the city of Lancaster in England and the county seat was Lancaster until the name was changed to Lincoln.


Created:  March 6, 1855

County Seat:

Lincoln 1859 – present


County Courthouse – Lincoln


Location:  575 South 10th Street / Lincoln Mall

Built:  1967 – 1968

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Hemphill Vierk & Dawason and Clark-Enersen-Olson- Burroughs-Thomsen

Contractor:  Alvine Associates


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story glass, chrome and stone structure. The east front has vertical diving pillars and further chrome dividers between the windows. There are three entrances in the center. The second story windows are smaller. There is a recessed third story. The roof line is flat. The City Hall is part of the complex and adjoins along the north side. On the south side is the Justice and Law Enforcement Center constructed in 2000.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by F M Ellis and constructed by W H S Stout in 1888. The building was located north of the present courthouse and demolished in 1969.


See:  The Nebraska Supreme Court and Nebraska Court of Appeals are located in the county.



N – Saunders County

E – Cass County and Otoe County

S – Gage County

W – Saline County and Seward County





























Photoss taken 2009 and 2010