Franklin County

US States / N / Nebraska / Franklin County

Franklin County is named for Benjamin Franklin, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence and who lived from 1706 to 1790.


Created:  February 16, 1867

County Seat:

Waterloo          1871

Franklin City    1871 – 1874

Bloomington    1874 – 1920

Franklin           1920 – present


County Courthouse –  Franklin  


Location:  405 15th Avenue / O Street

Built:  1925 – 1926

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  George A Berlinghof of Beatrice

Contractor:  Vrana Brothers of Omaha


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The east front has projecting north and south sections with a recessed center section. The central entrance on the first story is framed with stone. A horizontal stone band runs between the first and second stories. A wide cornices runs below the flat roof line. A stone crest rises along the roof line.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed in 1878 in Bloomington which ceased to be the county seat in 1920.


See:  The architect, George A Berlinghof of Beatrice, designed courthouses in Colfax County, Greeley County, Howard County, Kearney CountyLincoln CountyNemaha County, Seward County and Thayer County; and in Iowa in Crawford County.



N – Kearney County

E – Webster County

S – Smith County, Kansas and Phillips County, Kansas

W – Harlan County


























Photos taken 2010