Douglas County

US States / N / Nebraska / Douglas County

Douglas County is named for Stephen Arnold Douglas, who was an American statesman, United States Senator and presidential candidate.


Created:  November 23, 1854

County Seat:

Omaha  1855 – present


County Courthouse – Omaha  


Location:  1701 Farnam Street / 18th Street

Built:  1909 – 1912

Style:  French Renaissance Revival

Architect:  John Latenser Sr. of Omaha

Contractor:  Caldwell & Drake of Columbus, Indiana


Description:  The building faces north and is a five story Bedford stone and concrete structure. The building is “U” shaped. The north front has a protruding east and west section with eight large Corinthian columns rising from the second to fourth floors. The first floor entrance has three large stone arches. The fifth and sixth floors are recessed with a long balustrade across the top of the fourth story. The interior has mosaic floors and marble wainscoting.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by E E Meyers & Sons and constructed by John Coots in 1885. The building was demolished.


See:  The architect, John Latenser, Sr. of Omaha   and John Latenser of Omaha, designed courthouses in Cherry County, Custer County, Dawes CountyFurnas County and Holt County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Douglas County Courthouse



N – Dodge County and Washington County

E – Pottawattamie County, Iowa

S – Sarpy County

W – Saunders County




















Photos taken 2008