Colfax County

US States / N / Nebraska / Colfax County

Colfax County is named for Schuyler Colfax, who was a former Vice President of the United States.


Created:  March 15, 1869

County Seat:

Schuyler  1869 – present


County Courthouse – Schuyler  


Location:  411 East 11th Street / C Street

Built:  1921 – 1922

Style:  Second Renaissance Revival

Architect:  George A Berlinghof of Beatrice

Contractor:  R O Stake of Lincoln


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story buff colored brick, concrete and stone structure. The north front has stone trim around the first story entrance. There are three recessed panels of windows with a wide header and crest at the top. The fourth story is recessed. The base of the building is concrete.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed by Charles Lightfoot in 1871.


See:  The architect, George A Berlinghof of Beatrice, designed courthouses in Franklin County, Greeley County, Howard County, Kearney CountyLincoln CountyNemaha County, Seward County and Thayer County; and in Iowa in Crawford County.



N – Stanton County and Cuming County

E – Dodge County

S – Butler County

W – Platte County














Photos taken 2009