Cass County

US States / N / Nebraska / Cass County

Cass County is named for Lewis Cass, who was an American statesman and patriot.


Created:  November 23, 1854

County Seat:

Plattsmouth  1855 – present


County Courthouse –  Plattsmouth 


Location:  346 Main Street / North 4th Street

Built:  1891 – 1892

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  William Gray of Lincoln

Contractor:  O J King of Omaha


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story red colored brick, terra cotta and stone  structure. The west central section projects from the main building and has an arched entrance. On each corner is a large square tower with green colored peaked roof. In the center of the building rises a high clock tower with steep peaked roof. The foundation is rock-faced cut reddish colored sandstone.


Note:  The cost of construction of the courthouse was $67,901.


See:  The architect, William Gray of Lincoln, also designed the courthouse in Johnson County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Cass County Courthouse



N – Saunders County and Sarpy County

E – Mills County, Iowa and Fremont County, Iowa 

S – Otoe County

W – Lancaster County














Photos taken 2008