Buffalo County

US States / N / Nebraska / Buffalo County

Buffalo County is named for the many herds of buffalo that came to the feed grounds in the region.


Created:  March 14, 1855

County Seat:

Gibson    1871 – 1874

Kearney  1874 – present


County Courthouse – Kearney 


Location:  1512 Central Avenue / 15th Street

Built:  1973 – 1975

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Central Contracting Corporation  of Kearney


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story red colored brick structure. The windows are narrow and vertical. The building has a flat roof line. The Judicial Building section of the building complex was expanded in 1979 to 1980. The architect was Mid-Plains Engineering and Architects. The building was expanded in 2007 with new entrance on the west side. The west entrance has a semi-circular porch supported by columns. The building is called the Buffalo County Government Center. During expansion in 2007, the architect was Goldberg, Sullivan & McCrerey and the contractor was Beckenhauer Construction Inc.


Note: The County minutes show that on May 1. 1973, five bids were received for construction of the present courthouse:

Lacey Building & Supply, Grand Island   $526,892.00

Busboom & Rauh, Salina, Kansas          $536,500.00

Central Contracting Corp, Kearney         $508,496.00

Weaver Construction, Kearney               $520,695.89

Roeder Bros, Kearney                            $516,150.00

Motion was made by Carranza, seconded by Johnson that we award the contract to Central Contracting Corporation for County Office Complex for $508,496.00.  Roll call:  Aye-Carranza, Johnson, Freburg, Asher,Lowe, Wright, and Cannon.  Motion carried.


Note:  The previous courthouse in Gibson was constructed by H B Dexter in 1872. The previous courthouse in Kearney was designed by W E Wagner, constructed in 1890 and served as the courthouse until the present courthouse was completed.



N – Custer County and Sherman County

E – Hall County

S – Kearney County and Phelps County 

W – Dawson County
































Photos taken 2010