Boyd County

US States / N / Nebraska / Boyd County

Boyd County is named for James E Boyd, who was the Governor of Nebraska in 1891 and 1892 to 1893.


Created:  March 20, 1891

County Seat:

Butte  1891 – present


County Courthouse –  Butte 


Location:  401 Thayer Street / Park Street

Built:  1965 – 1966

Style:  Modern

Architect:  B H Backlund & Associates Inc. of Omaha

Contractor:  Busbomm & Rauh of Salina, Kansas


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story rectangular buff colored brick and concrete structure. The central west entrance has a small canopy over the doorway. There are yellow colored vertical panels between the windows. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed in 1904 and remodeled in 1941.


See:  The architect, B H Backlund and Associates Inc. of Omaha, designed courthouses in Brown County and Cuming County.



N – Gregory County, South Dakota and Charles Mix County, South Dakota

E – Charles Mix County, South Dakota and Knox County

S – Holt County

W – Keya Paha County











Photos take 2010