Valley County

US States / M / Montana / Valley County

Valley County is named for the Valley of the Milk River as most of the county lies within the valley.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Saskatchewan, Canada

E – Daniels County and Roosevelt County

S – McCone County and Garfield County

W – Phillips County


Created:  February 6, 1893                    Map of Montana highlighting Valley County

County Seat: 

Glasgow  1893 – present


County Courthouse – Glasgow 


Location:  501 Court Street / 3rd Avenue South

Built:  1972 – 1973

Style: Modern

Architect:  E F Link & Associates

Contractor:  Braden-Pehlke Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a one story brown colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Glasgow and has a tiered roof rising from the north front to a higher section on the south. The central entrance is recessed with glass walls. A wide horizontal yellow colored band runs along the flat roof line. The building houses the County District Court of the 17th Judicial District and Justice Court. On the south side is a two story rectangular brick Courthouse Annex.


See:  The 17th Judicial District includes Blaine County, Phillips County and Valley County.


History:  The county was created in 1893 and Glasgow was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1893. An addition was built in 1905. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1972 to 1973.




County Courthouse – Glasgow






















County Courthouse Annex – Glasgow

Photos taken 2006, 2009 and 2016