Mineral County

US States / M / Montana / Mineral County

Mineral County is named for the large amount of minerals found in the county.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Sanders County

E – Sanders County and Missoula County 

S – Missoula County and Clearwater County, Idaho

W – Clearwater County, Idaho and Shoshone County, Idaho 


Created:  August 7, 1914                       Map of Montana highlighting Mineral County

County Seat: 

Superior  1914 – present


County Courthouse –  Superior 


Location:  300 River Street / 3rd Avenue East

Built:  1920

Style:  Colonial Revival and Georgian Revival

Architect:  Whitehouse and Price of Spokane, Washington

Contractor:  F E Petersen of Spokane, Washington


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Superior. The west front has a large portico supported by four white colored columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The first story windows are arched, On the center of the building is a square wood cupola. The courtroom is located on the second story. An addition was constructed in 1994.


History:  Superior became the county seat in 1914. The county probably rented office premises. The first and only courthouse was constructed in 1920




County Courthouse – Superior










Photos taken 2009