McCone County

US States / M / Montana / McCone County

McCone County is named for George McCone, who was a Montana state senator who helped create the County.


Created:  February 20, 1919

County Seat: 

Circle  1919 – present


County Courthouse – Circle 


Location:  1004 C Avenue / Idaho Street

Built:  1949 – 1950

Style:  Federal

Architect:  J G Link & Company of Billings

Contractor:  John Sterhan and S J Daniel & Sons of Glendive.


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story rectangular buff colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Circle. The east front has a slightly projecting center section with recessed entrance on the first story and a yellow colored panel on the second story. The foundation is concrete and the roof line is flat.


See:  The architect, John G Link of Montana ( in association with Charles S Haire  and others ) designed courthouses in Montana in Big Horn County, Carter County, Custer County, Dawson County, Granite CountyMusselshell CountyRichland County, Rosebud County, Sheridan County and Silver Bow County; and in Wyoming in Park CountySheridan County and Washakie County.


Note:  The first courthouse was a one story frame structure built in 1913. The second and present courthouse was built in 1950.



N – Valley County and Roosevelt County

E – Richland County and Dawson County

S – Prairie County

W – Garfield County and Valley County




County Courthouse – Circle



















Commissioner Minutes

Photos taken 2011