Jefferson County

US States / M / Montana / Jefferson County

Jefferson County is named for Thomas Jefferson, who was President of the United States from 1801 to 1809.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Powell County and Lewis and Clark County

E – Broadwater County

S – Gallatin County and Madison County

W – Silver Bow County and Deer Lodge County


Created:  February 2, 1865                    Map of Montana highlighting Jefferson County

County Seat: 

Radersburg  1865 – 1883

Boulder         1883 – present


County Courthouse – Boulder 


Location:  201 Centennial Avenue / Monroe Street

Built:  1888 – 1889

Style:  Richardsonian Romanesque

Architect:  John Paulsen of Paulsen & McConnel of Helena

Contractor:  J S McKenzie and McGowan of Boulder


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Boulder. The building features a tall square tower capped by an octagonal spire and two turrets. The building also has the semi-circular arches, rough-cut stone accents, and asymmetrical roof line. Gargoyles at the building’s corners, are perched just below the eave line. The building is constructed from locally quarried granite and bricks burned within a mile of the construction site. The interior features elaborate woodwork, including decorative door and window trim and an ornately carved staircase. In the courtroom, the walls rise twenty feet to a ceiling of stained beams and planking.  The building houses the County District Court of the 5th Judicial District. On the west side is the County Courthouse Annex.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Jefferson County Courthouse


County Criminal Justice Center – Boulder 


Location:  108 South Washington Street / West 3rd Avenue

Built:  Unknown

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a one story buff red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Boulder to the south of the courthouse. The northwest front has a large concrete portico with recessed entrance. The base of the building has stone facing and a narrows concrete band following the flat roof line. The building houses the County Justice Court.


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Beaverhead County, Jefferson County and Madison County.


History:  The county was created in 1865 and Radersburg was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1865. The county seat was moved to Boulder in 1883. The court was housed in a building until the second and present courthouse was constructed in 1888 to 1889 at a cost of $50,000.




County Courthouse – Boulder

























County Courthouse Annex – Boulder




Photos taken 2011