Granite County

US States / M / Montana / Granite County

Granite County is named for Granite Peak, which is the highest point in Montana and which contained a silver mine named “Granite”.


Created:  March 2, 1893

County Seat: 

Philipsburg  1893 – present


County Courthouse – Philipsburg 


Location:  220 North Sansome Street / Kearney Street

Built:  1912 – 1913

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  John G Link and Charles S Haire of Billings

Contractor:  Gagnon & Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Philipsburg. The west front has a projecting center section with entrance on the first story and two columns rising to the top of the second story with a header rising to a peak above the roof line. A cornice runs below the roof line. On the center of the roof is a round dome with columns and silver roof. There is a small cupola at the top. The base is red Montana granite.


Note:  The first courthouse was housed in Morse Hall which was built by Colonel J W Morse in 1887 and converted to a courthouse in 1893.


See:  The architect, John G Link of Montana ( in association with Charles S Haire  and others ) designed courthouses in Montana in Big Horn County, Carter County, Custer County, Dawson CountyMcCone County, Musselshell CountyRichland County, Rosebud County, Sheridan County and Silver Bow County; and in Wyoming in Park CountySheridan County and Washakie County.



N – Missoula County

E – Powell County

S – Deer Lodge County, Beaverhead County and Ravalli County

W – Ravalli County




County Courthouse – Philipsburg






















Photos taken 2009