Deer Lodge County

US States / M / Montana / Deer Lodge County
Deer Lodg

Deer Lodge County is named for Deer Lodge Valley,  which was named for the Native American name “lodge of the White-tailed Deer”, or a lick where deer came in droves.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Granite County and Powell County

E – Jefferson County

S – Silver Bow County and Beaverhead County  

W – Beaverhead County and Ravalli County


Created:  February 2, 1865                    Map of Montana highlighting Deer Lodge County

County Seat: 

Silver Bow        1865 – 1867

Deer Lodge      1867 – 1896

Anaconda         1896 – present


County Courthouse – Anaconda


Location:  409 Missouri Avenue / 4th Street

Built:  1898 – 1900

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Charles F Bell and John N Kent

Contractor:  Dolan & Hamill


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story buff dressed colored sandstone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds of a low hill in the center of Anaconda. The north front has a projecting center section with arched doorway on the first story, large arched window on the second story and pediment above the roof line. The first story windows are arched. The east and west wings project from the main building. On the center of the roof rises a two-tired square dome with small cupola at the top. The interior has a rotunda. The third story contains the large courtroom on the east, with jury rooms and judge’s chambers. A spiral staircase joins the office of the Clerk of the Court on the second story beneath the courtroom with the courtroom above. The building houses the County District Court of the 3rd Judicial District and County Justice Court.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Deer Lodge County Courthouse


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Deere Lodge County, Granite County and Powell County.


History:  The county was created in 1865 as part of Idaho Territory and Montana Territory with county seat at Silver Bow which became Deer Lodge in 1867. The first courthouse was erected in 1869. The second courthouse was a two story structure designed by Paulsen & McConnell and built in 1886. The county seat was moved to Anaconda in 1896 and the second courthouse was abandoned. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1898 to 1900 at a cost of $100,500.




County Courthouse – Anacona






















Photos taken 2009