Beaverhead County

US States / M / Montana / Beaverhead County

Beaverhead County is named for Beaverhead Rock in the Jefferson River, which rock is shaped like a beaver’s head.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Ravalli CountyGranite County and Deer Lodge County

E – Silver Bow CountyMadison County and Fremont County, Idaho

S – Clark County, Idaho and Lemhi County, Idaho

W – Idaho County, Idaho


Created:  February 2, 1865                    Map of Montana highlighting Beaverhead County

County Seat: 

Bannock  1865 – 1875

Dillon       1875 – present


County Courthouse – Dillon


Location:  2 South Pacific Street / East Bannock Street

Built:  1889 – 1890

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:   Sidney Smith

Contractor:  Wincote and Riley of Omaha, Nebraska


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a two story buff colored brick and wood structure. The northwest front has a wide arch at the central entrance. The center section rises into a large square tower with clock and cupola at the top. The second story windows are arched. The base of the building is course stone. An addition has been added on the southeast side. An addition was constructed on the east side in 1974 and 1975. The architect was Johnson-Graham Associates and the contractor was Robert A Taylor Construction.

Old County Courthouse – Bannack




Location:  Main Street

Built:  1875

Style:  Federal

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick structure. The south front has a porch with balcony on the second story. The roof is hipped. The building served as the courthouse until the county seat was moved to Dillon and then served as a hotel. The building is located in the Bannack State Park.




County Courthouse – Dillon



















Photos taken 2009 and 2011