Wright County

US States / M / Missouri / Wright County

Wright County is named for Silas Wright, a Governor of New York.


Created:  January 29, 1841

County Seat:

Hartville  1841 – present


County Courthouse – Hartville  


Location:  125 Court Square / Main Street

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Roger Frangkiser of Frangkiser & Hutchens of Kansas City

Contractor:  E R Smith of S & S Construction


Description: The building faces east and is a two story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds. The east front has a projecting north and south wing. The center section is glass panels with metal dividers. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The first courthouse was designed by built by John H Hight and built by William C Young in 1849. The building was burned in 1862. The second courthouse was burned and rebuilt after 1863. The third courthouse   was constructed by Rader & Huffman in 1898 and demolished in 1964. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $279,950.



N – Laclede County

E – Texas County

S – Douglas County

W – Webster County























Photos taken 2009