Scott County

US States / M / Missouri / Scott County

Scott County is named for John Guier Scott, who was a United States Representative from Missouri.


Created:  December 28, 1821 

County Seat: 

Benton         1822 – 1863

Commerce   1863 – 1878

Benton         1878 – present


County Courthouse – Benton  


Location:  131 South Winchester Street / Twappity Street

Built:  1911 – 1913

Style:  Beaux Arts and Federalist

Architect:  Henry H Hohenschild

Contractor:  J W McCarthy of McCarty Construction Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city and is “T” shaped. The east front has three rectangular entrance on the first story. Above are six white columns which rise to a wide header at the top of the third story with recessed windows behind. The north and south wings are lower. The building has terra cotta trim.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1820, the second courthouse was built in 1844 and the third courthouse was built in 1855. The fourth courthouse was built in Commerce in 1863 and the fifth courthouse was built in Benton in 1883 and was demolished in 1912. The present courthouse was constructed at a cost between $100,000 and $140,000.


See: The architect, Henry H Hohenschild, also designed courthouses in Barry County, Christian County and Pemiscot County.


County Judicial Building – Benton  




Location:  NW – New Madrid Street / Twappity Street

Built:  1977 -1978

Style:  Modern

Architect:  HWaters & Associates

Contractor:  Bridger Construction Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story light red colored brick and concrete structure. The east front has a recessed center section with four narrow columns rising to a wide header. The roof line is flat. The building is located on the west side of the courthouse.



N – Cape Giradeau County

E – Alexander County, Illinois

S – Mississippi County and New Madrid County

W – Stoddart County





County Courthouse




























County Judicial Building




Photos taken 2009