Schuyler County

US States / M / Missouri / Schuyler County

Schuyler County is named for Philip Schuyler, who was a general during the American Revolution, a delegate to the Continental Congress and a Senator from New York.


Created:  February 14, 1845

County Seat:

Tippecanoe  1845

Lancaster     1845 – present


County Courthouse –  Lancaster


Location:  1 Courthouse Square – Jackson Street / Marion Street

Built:  1960 – 1961

Style:  Federalist

Architect:  Kenneth O von Achen

Contractor:  J J Watson and R W Warren of Kansas City.


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The rectangular building has a wide pediment on the south side with four stone pillars framing the first story entrance and windows. There is a peaked roof with a small cupola in the center. The north side of the building has a recessed center section with over hanging roof.


Note:  The first courthouse was built by Cahill Parks in 1845. The second courthouse was designed by Yelverton W Payton and built by William L Shane in 1856.  The third courthouse was designed by C A Dunham of Burlington, Iowa nd built by L S Atchison of Colorado Springs, Colorado in 1895. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $254,351.



N – Appanoose County, Iowa and Davis County, Iowa

E – Scotland County  

S – Adair County

W – Putnam County 

















Photos taken 2009