Pemiscot County

US States / M / Missouri / Pemiscot County

Pemiscot County is named for the Native American word meaning “liquid mud”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – New Madrid County

E – Lake County, Tennessee and Dyer County, Tennessee

S – Mississippi County, Arkansas

W – Dunklin County


Created:  February 19, 1851                  Map of Missouri highlighting Pemiscot County

County Seat: 

Gayoso           1851 – 1899

Caruthersville  1899 – present


County Courthouse – Caruthersville


Location:  610 Ward Avenue / West 7th Street

Built:  1924 – 1925

Style:  Classical Revival and  Federalist

Architect:  Henry H Hohenschild

Contractor:  McCarthy Construction Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Caruthersville. The east front has a projecting central section with stone framed entrance and two large columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story with a wide header above. The roof line is flat. The architect was Henry H Hohenschild and the contractor was McCarthy Construction Company. The building was renovated in 1974 and 1975. 


See:  The architect, Henry H Hohenschild, also designed courthouses in Barry CountyChristian CountyOsage County, Pike CountyPulaski County,  Scott County and Washington County.


County Justice Center – Caruthersville




Location:  800 Ward Avenue / West 8th Street

Built:  Unknown

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Goldberg Group Architects of St Joseph

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Caruthersville to the southwest of the courthouse. There is a recessed central entrance framed with red colored brick and concrete. Horizontal red colored brick bands run across the building The roof line is flat. The jail is located on the north side.


See:  The 34th Judicial District covers New Madrid County and Pemiscot County


History:  The county was created in 1851 and Gayoso was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a small frame structure built in Gayoso in 1854. The second courthouse was built in 1873 at a cost of $750. The courthouse burned on December 2, 1882. The third courthouse was a two story frame structure built by Major George W Carleton in 1883 at a cost of $4000. In 1899 the county seat was moved to Caruthersville. The fourth courthouse was a two story square white colored frame structure built by Charles B Faris in 1899. The present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $114,000.




County Courthouse - Caruthersville 



















County Justice Center - Caruthersville 




Photos taken 2009