Osage County

US States / M / Missouri / Osage County

Osage County is named for the Osage River which is named after the French corruption of the name of the Native American tribe “Washazhe”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Callaway County

E – Gasonade County

S – Maries County 

W – Miller County and Cole County


Created:  January 29, 1841                    Map of Missouri highlighting Osage County

County Seat:

Linn  1841 – present


County Courthouse – Linn  


Location:  106 East Main Street / 1st Street

Built:  1923 – 1925

Style:  Federalist

Architect:  Henry H Hohenschild

Contractor:  McCarthy Construction Company


Description: The building faces north and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The north front has a large portico supported by four high brick pillars and has a balcony on the third story. The recessed entrance has stone trim. A cornice runs below the third story windows. The building descends south down a slope.  The roof line is flat. 


See:  The architect, Henry H Hohenschild, also designed courthouses in Barry CountyChristian CountyPemiscot CountyPike CountyPulaski County, Scott County and Washington County.


See:  The 20th Judicial District covers Franklin CountyGasonade County and Osage County.



County Courthouse – Linn










Photos taken 2009