Nodaway County

US States / M / Missouri / Nodaway County

Nodaway County is named for the Nodaway River which is named after a Potawatomi Indian word meaning “placid” or “jump over the river”, or from the Algonquin word meaning “snake or “enemy”.


Created:  February 14, 1845

County Seat:

Maryville  1845 – present


County Courthouse –  Maryville  


Location:  305 North Main Street / West 3rd Street

Built:  1881 – 1882

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Edmund J Eckel and George R Mann of St. Joseph

Contractor:  R K Allen


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building faces is 76 feet by 111 feet and is trimmed with sandstone. A white colored stone portico is at the first story on the west front. Above the portico rises a high thin brick clock tower with steep roof. The windows are trimmed with white stone. There are dormers in the roof. Alterations were made in 1932.


Note:  The first courthouse was built by Benjamin Sims in 1846 to 1847. The second courthouse was designed by James Ray, the superintendent and constructed by James C Nelson in 1854 to 1855 at a cost of $4,461. The cost of the present courthouse was $60,000.


See:  The architect, Edmund J Eckel and George R Mann of St. Joseph and the contractor,  R K Allen, also designed and constructed the courthouse in Atchison County.



N – Page County, Iowa and Taylor County, Iowa

E – Worth County and Gentry County

S – Andrew County

W – Holt County and Atchison County














Photos taken 2008