Monroe County

US States / M / Missouri / Monroe County

Monroe County is named for James Monroe, who was the fifth President of the United States from 1817 to 1825.


Created:  January 6, 1831 

County Seat:

Paris  1831 – present


County Courthouse – Paris  


Location:  300 North Main Street / East Monroe Street

Built:  1912 – 1913

Style:  Renaissance Revival

Architect:  William W Rose and David B Peterson of Kansas City

Contractor:  Henning Construction Company


Description: The building faces west and is a three story gray colored Bedford limestone structure. The building is 108 feet by 82 feet. The west front has a recessed first story entrance with two large columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story which has a raised parapet above the roof line. The first story is rusticated stone with smooth stone on the upper stories. There is a wide eave at the roof line. On the center of the building is a dome with red colored roof and clock.



N – Shelby County and Marion County

E – Ralls County

S – Audrain County 

W – Randolph County























Photos taken 2009