Lincoln County

US States / M / Missouri / Lincoln County

Lincoln County is named for Abraham Lincoln, who was a member of Congress from Illinois ( 1847-1849 and President of the United States ( 1861-1865 ).


Created:  December 14, 1818

County Seat: 

Monroe       1818 – 1822

Alexandria  1822 – 1829

Troy            1829 – present


County Courthouse – Troy


Location:  201 Main Street / West College Street

Built:  1870

Style:  Federalist

Architect:  Gustave Bachmann

Contractor:  Edwards and Griffith


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city and is  a “T” shape and is 75 by 80 feet. The east front has a small wood portico supported by six fluted white colored Corinthian columns with a balcony on the second story. The centre section projects slightly with a pediment at the top. The windows are arched. On the centre of the roof is an octagonal white cupola. An addition was added in the 1930’s. In 1974 a further addition was constructed at a cost of $150,000. The architect was Henze and Kuda Associates.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in Alexandria in 1822 at a cost of $448.50. The second courthouse was built in 1830 by David Bailey in Troy at a cost of $1,500. The present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $27,500.



N – Pike County

E – Calhoun County, Illinois

S – St. Charles County and Warren County

W – Warren County and Montgomery County





County Courthouse




























Photos taken 2009