Lewis County

US States / M / Missouri / Lewis County

Lewis County is named for Meriwether Lewis, who was an explorer and Governor of the Missouri Territory.


Created:  January 2, 1833

County Seat:

Monticello  1833 – present


County Courthouse –  Monticello  


Location:  101 Lafayette Street / South Washington Street

Built:  1875 – 1876

Style:  Federalist

Architect:  J T McAllister

Contractor:  George Barnes


Description:  The building faces north and is a two red colored brick structure. The building is 75 by 50 feet and has a mansard roof with a square cupola above the central north section of the building. Decorative brick work and paired brackets enrich the cornice. Above the central north entrance is a small balcony on the second story. An addition was added to the west side.


Note:  The first courthouse was built by J W Buckley in 1834. The second courthouse was built by William S Pemberton and James A Richardson in 1839. The third and present courthouse was built at a cost of $10,000.



N – Clark County

E – Hancock County, Illinois and Adams County, Illinois

S – Marion County and Shelby County

W – Knox County



















 Photos taken 2009