Knox County

US States / M / Missouri / Knox County

Knox County is named for Henry Knox, who was the chief artillery officer of the Continental Army and later the first Secretary of War for the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Scotland County

E – Clark County and Lewis County

S – Shelby County and Macon County

W – Macon County and Adair County


Created:  February 25, 1845                  Map of Missouri highlighting Knox County

County Seat:

Edina   1854 – present


County Courthouse –  Edina   


Location:  107 North 4th Street / Lafayette Street

Built:  1934 – 1935

Style:  Traditional School

Architect:  William B Ittner

Contractor:  J E Williams of St. Louis.


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Edina. The south front has a central entrance framed with stone with a small pediment above. The windows on the second story are arched. The east and west wings are lower than the main center building. The roof line of the building is flat. On each of the four sides are clocks above the roof line. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building was a Works Project Administration project.


See:  The 2nd Judicial District covers Adair County, Knox County and Lewis County.


History:  The county was created in 1845 and Edina was selected as the county seat. The county rented premises. The first courthouse was a two story structure designed by Martin Baker, Jr. and built by James W Baker in 1848 at a cost 0f $1,650. The building was destroyed by fire in 1885 and no courthouse was constructed until 1934. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1934 to 1935 at a cost of $80,000.




County Courthouse – Edina
















Photos taken 2009