Jasper County

US States / M / Missouri / Jasper County

Jasper County is named for William Jasper, who was a famous scout for the Continentals during the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Barton County

E – Dade County and  Lawrence County

S – Newton County

W – Cherokee County, Kansas


Created:  January 29, 1841                    Map of Missouri highlighting Jasper County

County Seat:

Carthage  1842 – present


County Courthouse – Carthage  


Location:  302 South Main Street / East 3rd Street

Built:  1894 – 1895

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  Maximillan A Orlopp Jr. of New Orleans, Louisiana

Contractor:  L W Divelbis of Olathe, Kansas


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story course gray colored Carthage stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Carthage. The building is 106 feet by 133 feet. The north front has a projecting centre section with arched entrance on the first story with six arched  opennings on the second story. On either side of entrance rise two round stone towers with conical roofs. On each corner of the building is a square stone tower with peaked roofs. There are stone dormers on the roof. On the center of the roof is a high square clock tower rising to a conical roof with small cupola at the top.


History:  The first courthouse was built by Levi H Jenkins in Carthage in 1842 at a cost of $398.50. The second courthouse was designed by S W Walcott and built by Gabriel Johnson in 1849 to 1854 at a cost of $4,760 and was destroyed by fire in October, 1863. For the next thirty years, a remodeled jail was used as the third courthouse. The cost of construction of the fourth and present courthouse was $100,000.


County Courthouse – Joplin




Location:  601 South Pearl Avenue / West 6th Street

Built:  1974 – 1975

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Allgeier, Martin & Associates of Joplin

Contractor:  V S DiCarlo General Contractors Inc. of Kansas City.


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story concrete and glass structure. The building is located in the center of Joplin. The entrances are framed with white. The first story is dark brown colored brick and the upper stories have vertical narrow white colored dividers. The roof line is flat.




County Courthouse – Carthage


































County Courthouse – Joplin










Photos taken 2009