Howell County

US States / M / Missouri / Howell County

Howell County is named for James Howell, who was a pioneer and settler, or for Thomas J Howell, who was another settler.


Created:  March 2, 1857

County Seat:

West Plains  1857 – present


County Courthouse – West Plains  


Location:  4 Courthouse Square / Main Street

Built:  1935 – 1937

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Earl Hawkins of Springfield

Contractor:  L H Britton.


Description: The building faces west and is a three story gray colored Carthage stone and concrete structure. The building is 82 feet square. The west front has a central entrance on the first story. The second and third story windows are a single vertical section. The roof line is flat. This was a Work Projects Administration project.


See:  The architect, Earl Hawkins designed courthouses in Laclede County, Ozark County and Webster County.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1859. The second courthouse was built by T E Britton in 1869 at a cost of approximately $1,200. The third courthouse was designed by Henry H. Hohenschild and was constructed by G W Goodlander of Fort Scott, Kansas in 1883 to 1884 at a cost of $16,600. The building was razed in 1933. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $107,000.



N – Texas County

E – Shannon County and Oregon County

S – Fulton County, Arkansas

W – Ozark County and Douglas County











Photos taken 2009