Howard County

US States / M / Missouri / Howard County

Howard County is named for Benjamin Howard, who was the first governor of the Missouri Territory, a Congressman from Kentucky and who fought in the War of 1812.


Created:  January 23, 1816 

County Seat:

Franklin   1816 – 1823

Fayette   1823 – present


County Courthouse – Fayette


Location:  119 North Main Street / East Morrison Street

Built:  1887 – 1888

Style:  Second Empire and Italianate

Architect:  William F Schrage of Schrage and Nichols of Kansas City

Contractor:  A F Davis and Carl Etz


Description: The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The center section projects with a wide portico on the first story and three arched windows on the second story. Above is a wide pediment. On each corner is a square red colored brick tower with mansard roof. On the center of the building is a high with wood cupola with clock. The building was renovated in 1968. The architect was Carroll Hutchens of Frangkiser & Hutchens and the contractor was Don L Bron.


Note:  The first courthouse was built by J W Garner and Stephen Trigg in 1827. The second courthouse was built by Joseph Megraw in 1857 at a cost of $25,000. Wings were added sometime before 1883. Fire destroyed the building on December 1, 1886. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $32,942.



N – Chariton County and Randolph County

E – Boone County

S – Cooper County

W – Saline County and Chariton County





























Photos taken 2009