Harrison County

US States / M / Missouri / Harrison County

Harrison County is named for Albert G Harrison, who was a Congressman from the State of Missouri.


Created:  February 14, 1854

County Seat:

Bethany  1854 – present


County Courthouse –  Bethany  


Location:  1515 Main Street / North 15th Street

Built:  1939 – 1940

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Keene and Simpson of Kansas City and William L Perkins of Chariton, Iowa

Contractor:  Thomas H Dawson of Kansas City


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story gray colored stone structure. The building is 87 by 83 feet with a high center section and lower east and west wings. There are decorative panels between the first and second story windows. The roof line is flat. The building is a Work Project Administration.


Note:  The first courthouse was designed by John S Allen and built by Elkana Grover in 1845. The second courthouse was built in 1857 by Asbury Allen and Allen S Meek for $9,732. In 1874, the next courthouse was designed by W Angelo Powell of St. Joseph and built by Benton Edwards and Isaac Hayes of Macon. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $124,000.



N – Ringgold County, Iowa and Decatur County, Iowa

E – Mercer County and Grundy County

S – Daviess County

W – Gentry County and Worth County

















Photos taken 2009