Daviess County

US States / M / Missouri / Daviess County

Daviess County is named for Joseph Hamilton Daviess, who was a lawyer killed at the Battle of Tippecanoe and who lived from 1774 to 1811.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Harrison County

E – Grundy County and Livingston County

S – Caldwell County

W – DeKalb County and Gentry County


Created:  December 29, 1836                Map of Missouri highlighting Daviess County

County Seat:

Gallatin  1836 – present


County Courthouse – Gallatin 


Location:  102 North Main Street / West Grand Street

Built:  1907 – 1908

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Patrick Henry Weathers of Jackson, Mississippi

Contractor:  W T Lewman and Company of Louisville, Kentucky


Description: The building faces east is a three story stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grpunds. The building has a large porch on the east front with arched entrance on the first story and two columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story with pediment at the top. Similar porches are on each side. The second and third story windows are recessed behind the columns. The front extends from the main building. On the center of the roof is a large dome with clock and white dome roof.


Note:   The Cape Girardeau County courthouse is of the same design as it was built by Weathers in 1906-08. The Stoddard County courthouse, adjacent to Cape Girardeau County, was remodeled in 1909 using Weathers’ same design, but with brick as the principal material.


See: The architect, Patrick Henry Weathers of Jackson, Mississippi, designed courthouses in Louisiana in Tensas Parish; in Mississippi in Lamar County, Lee County and Marion County; in Missouri in Cape Girardeau County and Stoddart County;  and in Oklahoma in Ellis County, Logan County and Washington County.


See:  The 43rd Judicial District covers Caldwell County, Clinton County, Daviess County, DeKalb County and Livingston County.




County Courthouse - Gallatin 













Photos taken 2009