Dallas County

US States / M / Missouri / Dallas County

Dallas County is named for George Mifflin Dallas, who was the eleventh Vice President of the United States.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hickory County and Camden County

E – Laclede County and Webster County

S – Webster County and Greene County

W – Polk County and Hickory County


Created:  January 29, 1841                    Map of Missouri highlighting Dallas County

County Seat:

Buffalo  1841 – present


County Courthouse – Buffalo  


Location:  108 North Maple Street / East Main Street

Built:  1956 – 1958

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Eugene F Johnson

Contractor:  Rex A Kinser.


Description: The building faces north and is a one story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building fills the area of courthouse square in the center of Buffalo. The north front has stone facing at the center entrance. The windows are horizontal. A wide overhang follows the flat roof line. A small section extends above the entrance. The roof line is flat. On the east side is the County Administration Building.


See:  The 30th Judicial District covers Benton CountyDallas County, Hickory CountyPolk County and Webster County.


History: The county was created in 1841 as Niangua County and Buffalo was selected as the county seat. In 1844, the county was renamed. The first courthouse was built by Levi Beckner in 1846 to 1847 and was destroyed by fire on October 18, 1863. The second courthouse was designed by Eleazer Hovey and built by A E Dye in 1868 to 1870 at a cost of $17,500. The building was renovated in 1937 and the cupola was removed in 1951. The building was destroyed by fire March 2, 1955. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1956 to 1958 at a cost of $241,114




County Courthouse – Buffalo






















County Administration Building – Buffalo










Photos taken 2009