Clark County

US States / M / Missouri / Clark County

Clark County is named for William Clark, who was the leader of the Lewis and Clark expedition and later, Governor of the Missouri Territory.


Created:  December 16, 1836

County Seat:

Waterloo    1837 – 1847

Alexandria  1847 – 1854

Waterloo     1854 – 1865

Kahoka       1865 – present


County Courthouse –  Kahoka


Location:  111 East Court Street / North Johnson Street

Built:  1871 – 1872

Style:  Colonial

Architect:  W B Larkworthy of Quincy, Illinois

Contractor:  J G Orr and P H Conner of Quincy, Illinois


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story gray colored brick structure. The building is 45 feet by 72 feet with arched windows. On the center of the roof is a white colored octagonal cupola with round ironwork at the top. The south end of the building has a small wrought iron balcony over the entrance. In 1934, the exterior of the building was faced with stucco. The building was remodeled in 1976.


Note:  The first courthouse was designed by Joseph McCoy and built in Waterloo in 1837. The second courthouse was built by Ephraim Warner in Alexander in 1847. The cost of construction of the present courthouse in 1871 was $18,985.



N – Van Buren County, Iowa and Lee County, Iowa

E – Lee County, Iowa and Hancock County, Illinois

S – Lewis County

W – Knox County and Scotland County











Photos taken 2008