Chariton County

US States / M / Missouri / Chariton County

Chariton County is named for the Chariton River which river was named after Joseph Chorette, a French fur trader from St, Louis.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Linn County and Macon County

E – Macon County, Randolph County and Howard County

S – Saline County

W – Saline CountyCarroll County and Livingston County


Created:  November 16, 1820                Map of Missouri highlighting Chariton County

County Seat:

Old Chariton  1821 – 1833

Keytesville      1833 – present


County Courthouse – Keytesville


Location:  306 South Cherry Street / West Jackson Street

Built:  1974 – 1975

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Carroll Hutcheson

Contractor:  Irvinbilt Company of Chillicothe


Description: The building faces north and is a one story red colored brick and cement structure. The north front has a small portico at the entrance. The windows are vertical. The south end of the building is higher and wider with a small portico on the west and east sides and a small cupola in the center of the peaked roof.


See:  The 9th Judicial District covers Chariton County, Linn County and Sullivan County.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1833 and destroyed by fire on September 20, 1864. The second courthouse was built at a cost of $40,000 by Levi Aldrich in 1866 with interior work done by Mitchel and Wagner in 1867. The building was destroyed by fire on August 27, 1973.




County Courthouse - Keytesville 



















Photos taken 2009