Buchanan County

US States / M / Missouri / Buchanan County

Buchanan County is named for James Buchanan, who was a United States senator from Pennsylvania and President of the United States.


Created:  December 31, 1838

County Seat:

Benton ( Sparta )  1839 – 1846

St. Joseph            1846 – present


County Courthouse – St. Joseph


Location:  411 Jules Street / North 4th Street

Built:  1873 – 1876

Style:  Renaissance

Architect:  P F Meagher

Contractor:  John DeClue


Description: The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and stone structure. The building forms s Greek cross measuring 235 feet by 205 feet. The south portico projects from the main building with four large columns rising to the top of the second story with a pediment above at the roof line. There are similar porticos on the east and west sides. In the center of the building is 40 foot circumference dome. The building was rebuilt in 1885 after a fire with R K Allen as architect. There was an extensive restoration in 1979. On the north side of the courthouse is the modern  Sheriff Office and Police Headquarters which faces south.


Note:  The first courthouse was designed by George W Nixon and William Fowler and was built by Guilford Moultray in Sparta in 1841.



N – Andrew County

E – DeKalb County and Clinton County

S – Platte County

W – Atchison County, Kansas and Doniphan County, Kansas























Photos taken 2008